Google Glass just picked paint colors for me, thanks to the Color Snap app

Gigaom

Sherwin-Williams brought its ColorSnap software to Google Glass(s goog) on Monday, letting Glass users snap a picture for color inspiration. The software, developed by Resource, quickly matches paint colors with colors from a picture using Google’s wearable computer. How quickly? I tested it out and got solid color recommendations of Sherwin-Williams paint in under 30 seconds. I also got directions to my nearest Sherwin-Williams store.

Here’s a video demonstration of how ColorSnap Glass works in theory:

In practice it works as advertised. I added the app to Google Glass through the Sherwin-Williams website and then snapped a picture of my Google+ background image; it’s a shot of our land before we built our first house in the 1970s. I always liked the colors of the field.

Here’s the original image followed by the paint palette recommended by the Color Snap Glass app.

NJ field

Color Snap Glass

I think the app did a…

View original post 131 more words

Leave a Reply

